Bridgeport Public Schools Honored by NFTA

Each year, the nonprofit organization Nebraskans for the Arts (NFTA) honors a Nebraska school or school district that celebrates and supports participation, enjoyment and excellence in the media arts, visual arts, dance, music or theater. NFTA strongly believes that student participation in high-quality arts education contributes to overall higher student achievement, student engagement, critical thinking skills, and problem solving.

This year’s award was presented to Bridgeport Public Schools for their commitment to arts education in the public school system. According to NFTA it isThe vision on art education is reflected in the work with students. Your school has consistently demonstrated a commitment to excellence, pushing boundaries and inspiring students through creativity. We are incredibly proud that you represent Nebraska’s vibrant and diverse artistic community.

Executive Director Dr. Lance Nielsen and Senator Steve Erdman were guests at Bridgeport School’s Fine Arts Night on May 7. After a tour of the art exhibits, the concert kicked off with welcome speeches from Superintendent George Schlothauer and a reading of Legislative Resolution 330 by Senator Erdman, who recognized the achievement. Dr. Nielsen then presented the award, a custom glassware artwork by Margaret Watkins of Omaha.

Also recognized were Bridgeport Arts Department staff:

  • General and vocal music: Michaela Babic
  • General and instrumental music: Doug Babic
  • Speech: Janelle Galvan and Costa Lapesotes
  • Theatre: Kristin Kraupie and Costa Lapesotes
  • Visual arts: Debbie Millete, Pat Goltl
  • Digital Media Art: Pat Goltl
  • Journalism: Janelle Galvan