States with the most Women’s College World Series titles

Oklahoma has won back-to-back Women’s College World Series titles. The Sooners have won six since 2013 – the most of any team (or state) in that time. But that hasn’t always been the case.

The state of Oklahoma’s monopoly on the Women’s College World Series championships is relatively new. Let’s take a look at the states with the most Women’s College World Series titles since the tournament began in 1982.

16 — California

When it comes to DI softball titles, the state of California reigns supreme. California’s total was helped immensely by UCLA, as 13 of those 16 came via the Bruins. UCLA won championships in 1982, 1984, 1985, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1995, 1999, 2003, 2004, 2010, 2019. The three other titles are Cal State Fullerton (1986), Fresno State (1998) and California ( 2002).

CHAMPS: Here is the complete list of titles in DI softball


Arizona State remains out west and is six championships behind California, but that doesn’t mean it hasn’t had a lot of success. Much of that success comes from the Arizona Wildcats, as they have won a total of eight championships: 1991, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 2001, 2006 and 2007. Arizona State picked up the torch for a short time in the late 2000s. and early 2010, winning titles in 2008 and 2011. An Arizona university has not been to the finals since 2011.

7 —Oklahoma

Six of the state’s seven titles have come from the Oklahoma Sooners in the past 11 years: 2013, 2016, 2017, 2021, 2022, 2023. The other came in 2000. Patty Gasso has been at the helm for all of them. Considering the abundance of talent trickling into the state’s flagship, the title total looks set to continue to increase.

BACK-TO-BACK-TO-BACK: How Oklahoma won its third straight national title in 2023

3 —Florida

In 2014 and 2015, the Florida Gators won back-to-back Women’s College World Series titles, becoming the first team in Florida to ever reach the college softball mountaintop and the first college softball team not named Arizona or UCLA to win back. -back titles. Florida State made the climb in 2018, winning the national championship for the first time in program history. The Seminoles have finished second twice since then (2021 and 2023).


Texas A&M’s strong play in the 1980s only earned the state two titles: 1983 and 1987. The Aggies were also runners-up in both the 1984 and 1986 championships. Although the Texas Longhorns have no championships, they were the runner-up in the 2022 championship.

1 — Michigan, Washington, Alabama

These three states all have three titles. The Michigan Wolverines denied UCLA a three-peat in 2005. In 2009, the Washington Huskies won their state’s first title by defeating the Florida Gators. And finally in 2012, the Alabama Crimson Tide defeated Oklahoma for their first championship.

Here is a complete list of Women’s College World Series title wins by state:

16 California
10 Arizona
7 Oklahoma
2 Texas
1 Michigan, Washington, Alabama