Macon, GA election results: Who won committee races?

A sign designating voters stands outside the Elaine Lucas Senior Center on Tuesday, May 14, 2024, in Macon, Georgia. Early voting for the Georgia primaries is available through Friday, May 17.

[email protected]

Editor’s Note: This story is part of ongoing coverage of the May 21 election in Bibb County. For more up-to-date race coverage, visit

Seven seats on the Macon-Bibb County Commission were up for grabs in Georgia’s nonpartisan elections on Tuesday, with several of them decided with Tuesday’s results.

But a few races are headed to a second round.

Click to resize

Districts 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9 were contested in Tuesday’s races, and Districts 3 and 8 will require another round of voting to determine a winner, based on unofficial results from the Office of the Georgian Secretary of State.

Results from all precincts were not announced until Wednesday morning as problems at the Bibb County Board of Elections office caused delays.

Here are the results of each race.

District 2

Incumbent Paul Bronson, 38, secured his second term as District 2 commissioner against challenger Wallace Herring, according to unofficial results from Georgia’s secretary of state, with all districts reporting their votes. The neighborhood covers most of downtown and south to Guy Paine Road.

According to the Secretary of State’s results, Bronson received approximately 76% of the vote.

Bronson, who worked as a firefighter and senior personnel officer for the U.S. Reserves, said the biggest challenges facing Macon-Bibb are communication, economic stability and development inequality. His goals are to combat food deserts in the Pleasant Hill and Houston Avenue neighborhood and complete the development of the MLK Small and Minority Business District. He also wants to solve flooding problems in Amerson Park, Claremont, Shirley Hills and Baconsfield.

“One of my goals is to bridge the gap between downtown and Houston Avenue,” Bronson told the Telegraph on the eve of Election Day. “Macon is a great place to live and it’s time to change the narrative and ensure all Maconites thrive,” he previously told The Telegraph.

District 3

District 3 appears set for a runoff as none of the three candidates in the race could secure a majority of votes in Tuesday’s election, according to unofficial results from Georgia’s foreign minister.

Melvin Flowers Jr., Everett Slay and Stanley Stewart vied for the seat. Flowers had the most votes, gaining 47% of the votes cast. Stewart had the second most votes, with 38% of the vote. These two will compete in the runoff election on June 18.

Flowers, who goes by “Coach,” considers himself “a man of the people,” according to a campaign flier. He is a longtime youth sports coach in the Athletic Amateur Association and says he won a national basketball championship as a coach. For more than twenty years he organized an annual Christmas lunch for seniors. Equality is at the forefront of his mission as commissioner, he said. He also worked as a substitute teacher in Bibb County for several years.

Stewart, a Northside High School alum, has lived in Macon for 47 years. He was vice president of the Belvedere Manor and Weaver Heights Neighborhood Association, chairman of the Macon Film Commission, an elder at Washington Avenue Presbyterian Church and worked in the district office of workforce development. Stewart plans to strengthen public safety, economic development and the county’s infrastructure.


Incumbent Seth Clark, who is also mayor pre tempore, has blocked challenger Caitlin Mee from being re-elected, according to unofficial results from Georgia’s foreign minister.

Clark, who received about 81% of the vote, has served as county commissioner for the district since January 2021 and as executive director of the Ocmulgee National Park and Preserve Initiative since April 2021.

He wants to address poverty and crime by funding law enforcement, increasing access to mental health care, funding neighborhood crime prevention programs and removing blighted properties. He is also leading the initiative to give the Ocmulgee Mounds national park status, which he claims will preserve the area and boost tourism for Macon.

“This is proof that our neighbors believe everything is moving in the right direction,” Clark said of his re-election.

District 6

Incumbent Raymond Wilder has won election to the Macon-Bibb County Commission District 6 seat, according to unofficial results from Georgia’s Secretary of State. Wilder defeated challenger George Thomas and had about 71% of the vote as of Wednesday morning.

“I love this area, I’ve lived in Macon-Bibb all my life,” Wilder said. “I want to do everything I can to make District 6 and Macon-Bibb the best it can be.”

Wilder was first elected in 2020. He works as an insurance adjuster and grew up in Macon.

During his upcoming term, he wants to prioritize improving infrastructure and public safety. He wants to focus the SPLOST money specifically on road resurfacing, and wants to gauge public interest in adding another recreation center.

District 7

Incumbent Bill Howell has won election to the Macon-Bibb County Commission District 7 seat, according to unofficial results from Georgia’s Secretary of State. Howell received about 75% of the vote, defeating two challengers, Chris Barfield and Michael McKeever.

Howell was first elected to the Board of Commissioners in 2020 and is the former owner and operator of Billy Bob’s towing company.

As commissioner, he plans to further improve stormwater drainage and roads.

District 8

Unofficial results filed Wednesday morning indicate District 8 will have a runoff. No one in the crowded field of four candidates managed to secure a majority of votes. Donice Bryant, Daniel Angelo, Kim Jenkins and Michele Parks were in the race.

Bryant received about 35% of the vote and Jenkins about 25%, making them the top two candidates in the race, according to unofficial results from Georgia’s foreign minister. These two will compete in a run-off on June 18 to determine the winner of the seat.

Bryant has a background in law enforcement with the Bibb County Sheriff’s Office and has volunteered with Alternate Life Path and House of Hope in Atlanta. She said she is focused on addressing issues of economic development, public safety, infrastructure and neighborhood devastation.

Jenkins is involved with the Neighborhood Watch Sheriff Program, Macon-Bibb Recreation Center, Macon Black Voices, Triad Senior Citizen Program and Keeping Macon-Bibb Beautiful. According to her campaign website, she wants to strengthen infrastructure, public safety, affordable housing and local businesses.


Incumbent Brendalyn Bailey has been re-elected to the District 9 seat, according to unofficial results from Georgia’s Secretary of State. Bailey took over after the previous county commissioner, Al Tillman, resigned. Both had fought for the spot in 2020, but the position went to Tillman. In addition to being a county commissioner, she is a retired teacher who still teaches at Central Georgia Technical College.

According to the Secretary of State, Bailey received about 60% of the vote in Tuesday’s election.

During her term, she plans to use social media and other online resources to connect with Macon residents. She also wants to make appearances outside instead of being alone in the office, in an effort to connect with Macon residents. In terms of the issues she wants to tackle, she focuses on improving infrastructure, reducing crime and creating opportunities for Macon’s young residents.

“Thank you for electing me,” Bailey said, about getting the votes to win. “I’m delighted.”

This story was originally published May 22, 2024 11:49 am.